Living like a local ~ Fijian hospitality

Bula Bula,

Since living in Fiji and receiving mostly great hospitality from its locals, I thought I should write about it.

Most people here are very friendly, you either say bula to someone you’re walking past, give your best bula smile or comment on how hot it is hehe.

Something which isn’t really noticed or cared about in Australia is knowing your neighbours. Maybe just to the point where you can ask them to take out the bin on dustbin day if they are away, collect their mail or water their garden. In Fiji, you are regularly invited to join them for Kava or share a meal. My neighbours which were (before moving) a family of four and have on the occasion prepared Cassava Pudding for dessert and gave me a portion to taste, it was delicious and went fantastic with vanilla icecream! A few weeks later a delicious Fijian beef, cassava and chili salad plate was shared. I’m a massive chili fan and it was right on point! At first I thought it was strange and wasn’t sure if it would be rude to accept it, Jay assured me it’s completely normal. That same night was Jay’s birthday where I made a lamb stew and chocolate slice, so I returned the favour and shared a plate with them, yay!

Each day I walk to the Treasure House Childrens Home, I pass a car wash business where the staff always greet me with big greetings such as “bula, good morning, yadra, you look nice” haha. The owner approached me when I was on my walk home for lunch and asked my name and where it was I walk to most days. He then invited me to have Kava with them one day, a bit reluctant of their intentions I asked if Jay could come as well, he said of course. Later that evening when I was walking home (again) they came running up to street level and shared one cup of Kava with no intentions of kidnapping me haha. The next day when Jay was walking with me, they also said Bula Bro to him.

I got chatting with a girl while waiting at the bus stop, she was on her way to work in Port Denaru. She had seen me around and like most people enquired how I spent my time in Fiji. Anyway, she ended up paying for my bus fare (.70 cents) as she needed to break a note, I offered her the money after but she insisted it was fine. .70 cents may not sound like much but Fijians are paid a considerable amount less than Australians. If you’ve stopped to think about how cheap Fiji is, well for a tourist on holiday from Australia, yes it is. However, if you’re earning Fijian dollar, the living costs, food, housing, petrol etc are not equivalent. I was very grateful for my free bus ride on that hot and humid day!

So if anything like this happens while you’re living in Fiji or on holiday, accept the invite and return the favour in any way possible.

Vinaka vakalevu,

Loloma levu xx

4 thoughts on “Living like a local ~ Fijian hospitality

  1. Phil Harvey says:

    Mightily neighbourly . Unlike here. Wouldn’t know the woman next door if I fell over her. Only see the fella very occasionally & he seems a bit weird.

    Tell Jay the Brumbies smashed the Reds last night 47-3 & Socceroos won the Asian Cup. It was great stuff & the tournament a huge success.

    Looks like I’ll be sailing the Greek Is in September. Doing a course in the Ionian Sea around Corfu & Paxos. If I pass, I’ll receive a licence enabling me to Skipper yachts anywhere in the World. Yeh!! 😃⛵️

    Bet the children were happy to see you & you them. Look forward to hearing all about the happenings at Treasure House.

    Take care Sweetie Poos.

    Love Dad xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Back online, yes Jay followed the game online and was happy with the brumbies result haha. He was also following the Socceroos and watched the highlights on youtube, I think he’s a converted football fan now yay! Hope the sailing works out, make sure Australia recognize greek licensing, Australia has strict laws with that stuff. I’ll blog about the kids now the internet is working yay!
      xox

      Like

Leave a Reply

